The National Park Plitvice Lakes

The paradisiacal national park Plitvice Lakes is not just one of the most famous of croatia but as well one of the oldest. Already in 1979 it was set as one of the first natural monuments on the list of the UNESCO World Heritage. Once you visited the park it will become pretty clear why..

Driving to the national park

The fastest way (from Zadar 1,5 hours) to reach the national park Plitvice Lakes is if you are driving on the highway. I am starting from Zadar but taking the longer way (2hours) which leads me over the Velebit mountains. Going this way you´ll have a beautiful view!

Kroatien Plitvice seen

Kroatien Plitvice seen

Kroatien Plitvice seen

the national park plitvice lakes

On an area of about 300.000 ha you will find 16 lakes which are conected to each other through overflows, waterfalls and cave systems. I am buying a One-Day-Ticket for 100 kuna to enter the Plitvice Lakes. On the infromation counter you will get an overview of the different possible ways to walk through the national park. I´m choosing the way called option “K” which takes about 6-8 hours (about 18 kilometers) leading me through the whole area. Since the nationalpark has an altitude difference of just 135 meters it is going to be a relaxed hiking tour. I am entering the park going down to the lakes. Already from distance I can hear the waterfalls…

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Green as far as the eye can see… just beautiful! I am arriving at the first lake stunning how many different shades of blue a lake can have! The crystal clear water can´t decide if it wants to be blue, turquoise, green or something in between. I´m walking to the right side follwing the signs for option “K”. Fallen trees are towering up along the path and protrudering clearly visible into the lakes.

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

The waterfalls

It doesn´t take long untill I can see the first little waterfalls. The wooden bridge leads me directly above them and offers viewing platform to have a better look on the waterfalls in greater distance.

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

The cave

After about 30 minutes I am reaching a cave called Supljara which contains steps to go up the hill. The view reminds me on the Winnetou movies which were mainly produced in the national park Plitvice Lakes.

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

the view

Arriving on the top of the hill you can almost see the complete area of the national park. I am continueing hiking to the right side where the big waterfall comes in sight. The path is leading me to the entrance 1 which is situated in the lower part of Plitvice Lakes. From here the way winds back down the lakes where you can see the big waterfall from a close range.

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

the big waterfall

The stream Plitvice rushes 78 meters into depth. It is croatias biggest waterfall and impressive to look at! Since the rushing water is crushing the big rocks little water drops are touching your face like a soft rain… a really refreshing feeling.

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Continueing my way I am walking on along the lakes on the opposite side. A service station crossing my way offers tables, toilettes and a restaurant for a short break. From here I am driving with the boat to the seascapes which are in the upper part of the Plitvice Lakes.

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

kroatien plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

the seascapes

A wooden path leads me through a surrounding which almost looks like a jungle! Small and big waterfalls are rushing into depth all around me, birds are singing and flying over my heads, lizards are following me while walking: It feels like a hiking tour through a fairytale forest!

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

kroatien plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Huge roots are crossing the paths demonstrating the nature´s power. Despite the ice cold water the lakes are really attractive to go for a swim (unfortunately it is forbidden).

kroatien plitvicer seen

kroatien plitvicer seen

kroatien plitvicer seen

kroatien plitvicer seen

kroatien plitvicer seen

kroatien plitvicer seen

kroatien plitvicer seen

It´s end of the day and I have to go back eventhough I would like to stay longer to watch the sunset. Since there are living bears and wolfs in the natinal park the rangers are recommending to leave Plitvice Lakes as long as the sun is up.

Plitvice Lakes is one of the most beautiful national park I ever visited! I´ll definately come back here again!

How did you like Plitvice Lakes?

 

Get Directions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Der Nationalpark Plitvicer Seen

Der paradisische Nationalpark Plitvicer Seen ist nicht nur einer der bekanntesten, sondern auch einer der ältersten Nationalparks Kroatiens. Bereits 1979 wurde er als einer der ersten Naturdenkmäler überhaupt auf die Liste des UNESCO-Welterbe aufgenommen. Wer ihn besucht, weiß auch schnell warum…

Die Anreise

Von Zadar aus mache ich mich heute auf den Weg zu dem Nationalpark Plitvicer Seen. Am schnellsten und einfachsten (circa 1,5 Stunden) erreicht man ihn über die Autobahn. Ich entscheide mich jedoch für den etwas längeren Weg (circa 2 Stunden), welcher mich über das Velebit Gebirge führt und mir einen wunderbaren Ausblick bietet.

Kroatien Plitvice seen

Kroatien Plitvice seen

Kroatien Plitvice seen

Der Nationalpark Plitvicer Seen

Auf einer Fläche von rund 300.000 ha befinden sich insgesamt 16 Seen, die durch, Überläufe, Wasserfälle und Höhlensysteme miteinander verbundenen sind. Ich kaufe mir ein Tages-Ticket (100 kuna / Person) und starte meinen Besuch. Beim Auskunftsschalter kann man sich einen Überblick über die verschiedenen Strecken machen. Ich entscheide mich für die Option „K“, diese dauert circa 6-8 Stunden (18 Kilometer lang) und führt mich durch das komplette Gebiet. Da der Nationalpark eine Höhendifferenz von nur circa 135 Meter hat, wird es überwiegend ein recht gemütlicher Spaziergang. Ich passiere den Haupteingang und gehe bergab. Die Wasserfälle kann ich schon von weitem hören…

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Grün so weit das Auge reicht… einfach wundervoll! Ich komme unten am ersten See an und staune wie viele unterschiedliche Blautöne es gibt! Das glasklare Wasser scheint sich kaum entscheiden zu können ob es türkis, blau oder grün sein möchte. Ich wandere weiter und folge dem Schild mit dem Aufdruck „K“. Es führt mich nach rechts entlang des Sees. Abgestürtze Bäume türmen sich entlang des Weges und ragen klar sichtbar in das Wasser hinein.

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Die Wasserfälle

Es dauert nicht lang bis ich die ersten kleinen Wasserfälle kreuze. Der Holzsteg führt teilweise direkt über ihnen hinweg und bietet immer wieder kleine Aussichtsplattformen, um jene die in größerer Distanz liegen besser sehen zu können.

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Die Höhle

Wenig später führt der Weg hin zu einer großen Höhle namens Supljara, die durch die weiße Felsenwand nach oben führt. Der Ausblick erinnert an die alten Winnetou Filme, welche größtenteils im Nationalpark Plitvicer Seen gedreht wurden.

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer seen

Die Aussicht

Oben angekommen kann man fast den kompletten Nationalpark überblicken. Im schönsten Sonnenschein wandere ich weiter nach rechts, wo der große Wasserfall in Sicht kommt. Der Weg führt zum Eingang 1, welcher sich im unteren Teil des Nationalparks Plitvicer Seen befindet. Von hier aus schlängelt sich ein mit Steinen belegter Pfad zurück nach unten zu den Seen, von wo aus man den großen Wasserfall aus nächster Nähe betrachten kann.

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Der große Wasserfall

Der Bach Plitvice stürzt hier 78 Meter in die Tiefe. Es ist der größte Wasserfall Kroatiens und wirklich beeindrucken sobald man vor ihm steht! Zugleich ist es eine kleine Erfrischung, da einem durch den Aufprall des Bachs auf den unten liegenden Felsen kleine Wassertropfen wie sanfter Regen entgegenkommen.

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Unten entlang des Sees wandere ich auf der anderen Seite zurück Richtung Ausgangspunkt. Eine Raststätte bietet den Besuchern auf einer großen Fläche eine Möglichkeit zur Erholung welche ich nutze. Ich entscheide mich von hier aus mit dem Boot weiter zu fahren und erreiche die Seelandschaften.

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

kroatien plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Die Seelandschaften

Während der Nationalpark bisher schon kaum natürlicher hätte aussehen können, bietet sich für mich hier ein noch beeindruckender Anblick! Ein Holzsteg führt mich durch eine Umwelt, die meiner Meinung nach einem Jungle sehr nahe kommt! Kleine und große Wasserfälle stürzen links und rechts von mir in die Tiefen, Vögel zwitschern und fliegen über meinem Kopf hinweg: eine Wanderung wie im Märchenbuch!

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

kroatien plitvicer seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Kroatien Plitvicer Seen

Riesige Wurzelstränge durchkreuzen die Pfade entlang der Seen und demonstrieren die gewaltigen Kräfte der Natur. Das Wasser läd trotz eisiger Temperaturen zum schwimmen ein. Man muss mentale Stärke aufbringen, um widerstehen zu können!

kroatien plitvicer seen

kroatien plitvicer seen

kroatien plitvicer seen

kroatien plitvicer seen

kroatien plitvicer seen

kroatien plitvicer seen

kroatien plitvicer seen

Der Tag neigt sich dem Ende zu und obwohl ich zu gern noch länger bleiben würde, wird mir empfohlen den Sonnenuntergang von Restaurant aus zu bewundern (außer ich möchte die Bekanntschaft der Bären und Wölfe machen). Der Nationalpark Plitvicer Seen ist einer der schönsten in dennen ich je war! Ich werde sicherlich wieder kommen!

Welchen Weg seid ihr gegangen und hat es euch dort genau so gut gefallen wie mir?

Routenplanung starten

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.